Tagsets.Tableeditor Issue: Sorting Date Fields

Occasional Contributor

Tagsets.Tableeditor Issue: Sorting Date Fields

I'm new to using Tagsets.Tableeditor, and while I'm seeing great potential use for it, I'm having an issue with the way date fields are being sorted. To provide some context, the data I'm using are being pulled from SQL Server in datetime format. I'm then using datepart to convert them to a SAS date format. Finally, I use the following code to generate HTML output:

ods tagsets.tableeditor file="c:\test.html"
    options(sort="yes"
            sort_arrow_color="blue"
            )
    style=styles.mystyle;

proc print data=sampledata label noobs;
run;

ods tagsets.tableeditor close;

The table looks great, and for all fields that AREN'T of date type, the sorting mechanism works perfectly. The issue is that the date fields don't appear to respond correctly to sorting. In particular, MISSING dates (which show up as a period) don't shift position when sorted. Ideally, I'd want missing dates to simply be clumped together, preferably AFTER the oldest date in the table. Does anyone have an idea as to why this is happening and how I might fix it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

New Contributor

Re: Tagsets.Tableeditor Issue: Sorting Date Fields

Hi Newnoise,

I also had a similar issue recently with the sorting of date field using the ODS tagsets in one of the webreports.  I have done the following steps to get the date sorting correctly.

1.)   1) Downloaded the latest version on  tagsets.tableeditor from the SAS website(http://support.sas.com/rnd/base/ods/odsmarkup/tableeditor/index.html)

2.)   

2) Used the option “tagattr=” in the define statement for the date field.

Test Example :

ods tagsets.tableeditor body=body  style=custom options (sort="yes" sort_arrow_color="red");

proc report data=mydata nowd;

column  subject group visitnumber visitdate ;

define subject         /"Subject ID"   center;