BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Din4
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to programming and I don't really understand Arrays. I am trying to calculate the day on day variance of the below dataset

CountrySegmentMar_30Apr_2Apr_3Apr_4
SingaporeCorp                 126,196                 126,196                 126,196                 126,196
malaysiaRet             70,521,201             70,562,347             70,455,005             70,556,299

so the expected output is to have the same number of records but have day on day variance i.e for malaysia the Apr2 balance would be Apr2 balance minus Mar 30 balance , something like this,

CountrySegmentApr_2Apr_3Apr_4
SingaporeCorp                          -                            -                            -  
malaysiaRet                   41,145                (107,342)                 101,294

This is the code I am tusing but not getting expected output.I am using base SAS 9.3

data check_op;
set check_op_e;
array nums[*] _numeric_;
array aday[*] _numeric_;
do i=2 to dim(nums);
aday(i)=nums(i)-nums(i-1);
end;
run;

I hope someone can help me on this problem. Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Since you are overwriting member 2 in the first iteration, your calculation in the second iteration will be done with the new value, causing unexpected results.

Once again, an example why wide datasets are a PITA to work with:

data check_op_e;
input Country :$15. Segment $ (Mar_30 Apr_2 Apr_3 Apr_4) (:comma12.);
format Mar_30 Apr_2 Apr_3 Apr_4 comma12.;
cards;
Singapore Corp 126,196 126,196 126,196 126,196
malaysia Ret 70,521,201 70,562,347 70,455,005 70,556,299
;
run;

proc transpose data=check_op_e out=check;
by country segment;
var _numeric_;
run;

data want;
set check;
by country notsorted segment notsorted;
diff = col1 - lag(col1);
if first.segment then diff = .;
run;