SAS program functionality

Contributor

SAS program functionality

I am using SAS Enterprise Guide 6.1

I am completely new to SAS and am struggling to understand some functionality.  I have a background in engineering that has used MATLAB and excel in the past for data analysis.  With MATLAB, it was possible to write a program that you could specify code to pull in data from different files.  Does SAS allow the same thing?  Hopefully I can explain via example:

I have 20 excel files with data (same column headings in each file), but I only want 3 columns of data from each file.  Once the data is filtered out, I then want to query the data to see different trends and eventually output in graphs.  Can I write a 'master' program to do this in SAS?  In which there is a prompt to give the file path so I can pick each individual file, but then the program extracts the same columns of data each time?

Or am I thinking too much like the functionality of MATLAB?

I am also having a hard time 'importing' data and storing it in a permanent library.  I created a specific library to store this data in, and when I try to save it, it doesn't show up in that library.

Again, I am a complete newbie so any 'dumbing' down you can do or pointing me to articles/instructions that are in layterms would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Laney

Valued Guide

Re: SAS program functionality

If you have pc sas you can use proc import, if you are only using enterprise guide you will have to use the import wizard and import each one individually.

On the first screen of the import wizard name your dataset,  On the third screen you can select what columns you want to keep.

After they are all imported you can do something like this:

data master;

set file1 file2 file3 file4;

run;

If you do not manipulate the import you can do this:

data master;

set file1(keep= var1 var2) file2(keep=var1 var2) etc;

run;

Contributor

Thanks!

Super User
Super User

Hi,