BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
RaviK
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

Im a Java/JEE developer trying to create Java client to integrate with SAS(9.4 version) and is investigating on how to write a Java client to invoke SAS stored process/programs with JDBC and/or via Foundation Services. I have been reading lot of documentation but not able to get my head around on what needs to be done in order to setup an enviroment where I can do initial handshake with an IOM server. I appreciate if someone could please list step by step process to setup the environment.

Following are some of the questions/doubts I have

1. Can I develop SAS Java client on Eclipse IDE. I read somewhere there's a SAS AppDev studio plug-in. How does the plug-in help.

2. What jars are required if I were to follow the foundation service integration approach and how to get the jars.

3. What services if any at client end need to be running in order to communicate to IOM server.

Greatly appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Ravi

12 REPLIES 12
MohammadFayaz
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

Have you read " Web Development with SAS by Example, Third Edition" book , Part 5 "Developing Web Applications with SAS and JAVA" ?

RaviK
Calcite | Level 5

Fayaz,

Unfortunately I dont have the kind of time on this project to read from a book and implement but will certainly look into it. In my case it's a non-web based client. It's going to be a Java class/component. What Im looking is if someone could put me in the right direction for a quick start on how to develop Java client with all SAS required jars/setup.

Thanks,

Ravi

MohammadFayaz
Calcite | Level 5

I build .Net windows form that calls SAS via services for educational purpose.

But I'm not familiar with Java.

RaviK
Calcite | Level 5

Irrespective of client side technology, could you please help me understand what kind of jars or setup needs to be taken care of before you can wirte a client. I want to understand minimun set of requirements before I can invoke a call to the