SAS equivalent to SQL variables?

Accepted Solution Solved
Frequent Contributor
Accepted Solution

SAS equivalent to SQL variables?

Hello,

As I am building different processes, mainly in Enterprise Guide but in base SAS as well, I would like to be able to set a variable that I can plug in to determine which library I am referencing for all of my data sets.  The primary purpose is to be able to switch back and forth between a development and production environment without having to change all of my code.  I have looked around and I am thinking maybe SAS macros are the answer but I am not completely sure.  I have not yet used them as I am still fairly new to SAS after a long history with SQL.

If someone could point me in the right direction I would be grateful!

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎02-16-2016 09:01 AM
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

Re: SAS equivalent to SQL variables?

Yes, probably a good fit for a macro variable:

libname prod "c:\production";
libname dev "c:\develop";

%let lname=prod; data &lname..xyz1; ... data &lname..abc; ... %let lname=dev; data &lname..xyz1; ...

So in this the first two steps run against a libname called prod, the last step runs against dev.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Solution
‎02-16-2016 09:01 AM
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

Yes, probably a good fit for a macro variable:

libname prod "c:\production";
libname dev "c:\develop";

%let lname=prod; data &lname..xyz1; ... data &lname..abc; ... %let lname=dev; data &lname..xyz1; ...

So in this the first two steps run against a libname called prod, the last step runs against dev.

Frequent Contributor

Ok, so I am new to macros.  Let's say I want to use this in Enterprise Guide where I have a process flow.  All of my tasks currently reference my static production library.  If I wanted to use this code, would I start the process with a program task to set the macro and then call it in each task? So, dev.dataset or prod.dataset?

Frequent Contributor