SAS Windows customization for efficient programming and data analysis

Occasional Contributor

SAS Windows customization for efficient programming and data analysis

I'm wondering what tips and tricks for SAS interface customization (in 9.3 Enhanced Editor in Windows) folks might have. A little about me and what I already do... I'm a researcher so I'm not in SAS everyday, but when I am I want it to be efficient. I love keyboard shortcuts and macros. I try to think like a programmer when I analyze data. I only analyze with code if I can help it. I try to "macrotize" (but still not all the fluent), and I setup my .sas files as discrete program files (rather than one large file with all analyses) following J. Scott Long's guidelines. I run my code interactively (select and F3, but am experimenting with batch...it's just not second nature yet). I tend to use .lst output rather than ODS output as default. I don't have Enterprise Guide at work.

I've already found these SAS interface tweaks helpful.

1) Customize a high-contrast color scheme for EE with black background (still can't figure out how to do it for log and output).

2) Setup default libraries for my active projects.

3) Made tool icons larger

4) Customize window layout (though it would be great to have SAS start this way rather than having to arrange them each time)

5) I use the built-in kb shortcuts and have programmed kb macros that produce common data and proc steps.

Here are a few things I'd like to figure out how to do, but what other tips do you recommend. I thought about moving to a an external editor and running in batch. Haven't ruled it out, but I figured there may be some nice secrets to the SAS IDE that I haven't learned yet.

- I wish I could switch between program windows without having to cycle through all open windows (i.e. log, output).