SAS Perl prx how to parse data more than once

Occasional Contributor

SAS Perl prx how to parse data more than once

Hi,

Please find attached the csv file with the data I am trying to clean. My data contains the brand of a camera, its model #, its price (price1 or price2-- whichever column is populated; both will never be populated at the same time and refers to the same camera) and discamt: how much the camera is discounted. Then I use an If statement to set the value of the variable to 0 if it is missing so that I can add them together later. Since I am new to SAS, if there is a more efficient way to do this pls let me know. For some reason, when I run this program, it generates "invalid data for discamt" in the log but the resulting dataset is fine so I have ignored this.

data bbnov21zoom check_bbnov21zoom;

length brand $ 80 model $ 25;

infile "G:\irobot2\irobot-eval\data\nov21data\bb_nov21\zoombbnv21.csv" firstobs=2 dlm="|" dsd;

input brand model price1 price2 discamt;

if price1="" then price1=0;

if price2="" then price2=0;

if discamt="" then discamt=0;

netprice= price1+price2;

regprice=netprice+discamt;

if index(model, 'B0000') then output check_bbnov21zoom;

else output bbnov21zoom;

run;

Now my question is: how do I parse this dataset using the PRX Perl regex function within SAS two times:

1) once to extract the brandname of the camera which is a substring from the variable "brand"? For eg, I just need the manufacturer's name which is Sony or Canon or Panasonic, etc. I have written this partial code below but I don't know where to insert it within the datasteps or how to make it work

data manufbbnov21zoom;

retain manufid;

if _n_=1 then

manufid=prxparse('/[[:alpha:]]+/o');

/*not sure what code goes in here*/

call prxsubstr(manufid,brand,pos,len);

if pos>0 then

manuf=substr(brand,pos,len);

keep brand regprice model manuf;

run;