BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bondtk
Quartz | Level 8

Hi

I am quite new to SAS macros.

I need help if someone could explain me this code in layman's term , step by step code explanation so that I could develop

some understanding how it works.  This macro is to define start date and end date and using to extract data and also

to create datestamp for files names as well.  Please advise in simple way as I am not very experienced in this.

thanks

TK

Code is below:

/*startmonth - 'DDMMYYY'd*/

/*datestamp = YYYYMM*/

%let startdt = 01NOV2016;

%let finishdt = 01AUG2017;

%let datestamp = %sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finishdt"d,0,b),year4.)%sysfunc(putn(%sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finishdt"d,0,b),month3.),z2.));

%macro extract(start,finish);

%let enddate = %sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finish."d,0,b),date9.);

%let datestamp = %sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finish"d,0,b),year4.)%sysfunc(putn(%sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finish"d,0,b),month3.),z2.));

data _null_;

call symputx('startmonth',compress("'"||"&start."||"'d"));

call symputx('endmonth',compress("'"||"&finish."||"'d"));

run;

%put &startmonth.;

%put &endmonth.;

%put &enddate.;

%put &datestamp.;

data tk.application_extract_&datestamp.;

set sastrain.application_extract;

where &startmonth <= datepart(d_entry) <= &endmonth;

run;

%mend extract;

%extract(&startdt.,&finishdt.);

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Let's break it down. First this block:

%let datestamp = %sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finishdt"d,0,b),year4.)%sysfunc(putn(%sysfunc(intnx(month,"&finishdt"d,0,b),month3.),z2.));

It is setting two macro variables dates represented in DATE9 format.