BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Rish
Calcite | Level 5

Hello experts/guru's,

I am a newbie in SAS and as part of my job have to learn it in a months time. I was initially panicked but now I see that SAS EG has the query builder and other neat tools that can be used without using SAS code. Is this a fair statement?

FYI, I am expert in MS Access and Excel. The query builder intuitively feels like MS Access ("if you will"). Are there any constraints using query builder or other user friendly tools in SAS EG?

Question pertaining to a query - I want to filter the product listing based on the beginning word of the product, example "A". I do not explicitly see any in the query builder filter options?

I would greatly appreciate your inputs.

Thanks in advance.

Raj

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Hi, Raj

I have fairly extensive experience with Enterprise Guide. You are definitely on a good track; the Query Builder is very powerful, and under the covers it uses a SAS facility called "PROC SQL", so your SQL knowledge from Access will be quite transferable.

PROC SQL is a pretty good implementation of SQL, with a lot of SAS extensions. In particular, SAS has a very rich set of functions, many of which can be used in the usual way in PROC SQL, and therefore in the Query Builder. All of the SAS documentation is available online. If you need advice on how to traverse the documentation, send me a Direct Message, and we can take it offline.

Another piece of advice for beginners is to use the Query Builder to transform your data into a form suitable for analysis, but to then use the analytical tasks in Enterprise Guide to do the analysis. They are very powerful, and not too hard to use.

In terms of using the Query Builder, I suggest that you follow this path: