BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ZZB
Obsidian | Level 7 ZZB
Obsidian | Level 7

The format of the data set: ID  Date Year Month Day  Variable1  Variable2

The dataset has the daily observations for each ID. 

For each ID each month, I want to run a regression of Variable 1 on variable 2 based on recent 6-month daily observations.

How to use the macro to run this regression? It is more complicated than the monthly rolling regression. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

If I do some manipulation and get the following format:   IDNAME   Count   Variable1   Variable2

Here 'Count' measures the date from 1 to a number based on date of each ID (for example, 120). Each ID has different number of count.

Now I run a regression of Variable1 on Variable2 using only 6 counts, i.e., 1-6 for the first regression, 2-7 for the second, 3-8,....

How to write this macro for the regression. I am new to the macro. Thanks.

proc reg data=one noprint outest=results;

model variable1=variable2;

by IDNAME count;

run;

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@ZZB wrote:

The format of the data set: ID  Date Year Month Day  Variable1  Variable2

The dataset has the daily observations for each ID. 

For each ID each month, I want to run a regression of Variable 1 on variable 2 based on recent 6-month daily observations.

How to use the macro to run this regression? It is more complicated than the monthly rolling regression. 

Thanks very much! 

I doubt someone here will write such a macro for you.

The general steps, for you to try, are:

1. select the proper 6 months of data from original data set
  2. perform regression
  3. store results
  4. repeat with next six month period
--
Paige Miller
ZZB
Obsidian | Level 7 ZZB
Obsidian | Level 7

If I do some manipulation and get the following format:   IDNAME   Count   Variable1   Variable2