Replace name of header line with string from number

New Contributor

Replace name of header line with string from number

Hello. I am new to SAS (and programming in general) and I have been asked to write a script to extract and analyze data for one or more variables (columns) from hundreds of individual CSV files containing thousands of observations in each. The idea is to compile data from all of the .csv files into one so that can can alanyze it appropriately. The data is in the format where the first row contains a number that is accociated with a specific test. Because each test is listed with a result in one column and a unit in a second column, there are a large number of blank cells between each number associated with the test in the first row (see below for example):

Row 1:                                                                 11                        22

Row 2: Name          Date                    Comment     Result     Unit     Result     Unit

Row 3: Last, First    June 1, 2014        Words          1            mol/L   2             g/L

I have managed to get a workable script to import all of the .csv files using proc import, however I can't figure out how to replace the "11" and "22" with their appropriate test name. I think this is due to the fact that they are numerical values and therefore cannot be read in properly. The problem is that because some of the .csv files have the tests listed in different orders (i.e. 11 then 22 in some, 22 then 11 in others), I can't simply extract the data from the "var" that is associated with the column/variable upon import. Additionally, when I use the proc import function to get the data, and simply print that, the first digit in the numerical value is replaced by an "_" - listing the above example as:

Row 1: var1             var2                    var3              _1           var4     _2           var5

Row 2: Name          Date                    Comment     Result     Unit     Result     Unit