Removing ALL observations in by group as long as all entries within group are duplications

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

Removing ALL observations in by group as long as all entries within group are duplications

Hi guys, 

I am new to SAS and I am trying to remove groups if they fulfil two conditions. I currently have this data set:

ID ID_2 ID_3;

A 1 1

A 1 1

A 1 1

A 2 0

A 2 1

B 3 0

B 3 0

I am grouping by ID then by ID_2.

I want to remove ALL entries in the by groups as long as (1) there exists duplication across all three variables - I don't just want to remove the duplicates, I would like to remove the entire group AND (2) this duplication involves value '1' in ID_3 across all rows in each by group.

In other words, the outcome I want is:

ID ID_2 ID_3

A 2 0

A 2 1

B 3 0

B 3 0

I have spent at least 5 hours on this and I have tried various methods:

• first. and last. (this does not guarantee that all observations in the by group match)

• nodup (this method only removes the duplicates - I would like to remove even the first row of the group)

• lag (again, the first row of the group stays which is not what I want)

I am open to using proc sql as well. Would really appreciate any input at all, thank you in advance!

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎11-11-2016 03:55 AM
Super User

Re: Removing ALL observations in by group as long as all entries within group are duplications

This might satisfy your requirements (at least it does with the example data):

data have;
input id $ id_2 id_3;
cards;
A 1 1
A 1 1
A 1 1
A 2 0
A 2 1
B 3 0
B 3 0
;
run;

proc sort
  data=have
  out=int /* this is necessary to preserve have as is, can be deleted afterwards */
  noduprec
  dupout=check
;
by id id_2;
run;

data want;
merge
  have (in=a)
  check (in=b rename=(id_3=checkvar) where=(checkvar = 1))
;
by id id_2;
if a and not b;
drop checkvar;
run;

Note that have needs to be sorted by id id_2; initially.