BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Sina
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, I am relatively new to SAS and stuck with a problem. For a certain type of time-to-event analysis, I need to create a new dataset from the one that I'm working with. In the original dataset, each study participant has one row of data. Assume we have a patient X who has been in our study for 5 years and has developed the event of interest in the fourth year of the study. I need to create an array for this person T1 through T5 that has the values [0 0 0 1 1], respectively. That is zeros for the three years without the event and ones for the years 4 and 5 that the event occurred. I need a way to figure out how to code this in SAS so that the system automatically does this procedure for some 60,000 patients in the dataset. Each patient has a different follow-up time [1-24 years], may or may not have experienced the event [0 and 1] and may have the event of interest at any point in time during the follow-up. Can somebody please suggest how should I go about this problem?  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Like this? 🙂

data work.sample;
input ID followup event event_occur;
datalines;
1 8  0 .
2 15 1 9
3 3  0 .
4 8  0 .
5 12 1 5
;

proc sort data = sample;
   by descending followup;
run;

data _NULL_;
   set sample;
   if _N_=1 then call symput('cols',followup);
run;

%put Additional Columns: &cols;

proc sort data = sample;   
   by ID;
run;

data want;
   set sample;

array period[&cols];

i = 1;
   do until (i > followup);
      period[i] = 0;
      i + 1;
   end;

if not missing(event_occur) then do j = event_occur to followup;
      period[j] = 1;
   end;

drop i j;
run;

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Sina
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, 

This is a very simple dataset of what I have in mind: 

data work.sample;
datalines;
1 8 0 .
2 15 1 9
3 3 0 .