BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
marianajane
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I'm new to SAS and am having a bit of trouble. Here is my task:

I need to input roughly 40 files in one folder that was produced by a program. They are labeled as follows:

(Experimental Conditon AB AB+BC ControlAB ControlAB+BC)(Setting 1 2 3 or 4)(Trial Number 0 or 1)

So, for example, a few file names would be:

AB1-0

AB+BC2-1

etc

I need to read in all of these files and would like to find a succint way to do this without hardcoding it. 

The file structure is also difficult to input. The format is .dat. When opened in excel, the file structure is such that the first 10 rows are comments about the data but the actual variable names start in row 11 (there are 7 variables) and there are 100 rows of data. The size of this dataset is the same across all files. 

I have spent two weeks trying to figure this out and just get error every time I try to read in the data. Your help would be very appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11
art297
Opal | Level 21

Can you attach one of the files and/or post the code you tried? Sounds like reading the file using a datastep, and starting at record #11, should get by the problem. If the files are all in one directory, and are the only ones there with a .dat extension, you should be able to use a pipe to get the filenames and automate the process.

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

Reeza
Super User

1. Use a data step to read in the file

2. Use FIRSTOBS to control the row from which you read the data

3. Once you have it working for a single file, post that code and we can help with automating it for all files. 

For example, here's a macro that would do this for multiple Excel Files. 

https://github.com/statgeek/SAS-Tutorials/blob/master/Import_all_files_one_type

To modify this for your needs, the %import_file would change to use your code from above. 

Then you could continue with the rest of the program. 

@marianajane wrote:

Hi,