BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
MovingScientist
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I am a SAS novice and learning SAS on my own. Here is what I'm trying to do:

I have a data file, book.txt (attached), that records customer purchases at Amazon and Barnes&Nobel, along with some customer demographic variables.  I want to write a program that reads the data in books.txt and generates a count dataset, that is, for each customer, counts the number of books purchased from Barnes&Noble. I want to keep the demographic variables, and then print the first 10 records of this new dataset.

Afterwards, I want to ignore the demographic variables, so I'm only left with the top 10 customers that bought the most book, and the number of books they purchased from Barnes&Nobel.  

For reference, I'm using the University Edition on a Mac at the time. However, I do have the following code that was written for Windows (don't know which SAS edition) that I've been trying to modify to use in the University Edition, but I keep getting errors.

--------------------

libname ABC 'C:\ABC';

proc import datafile="C:\ABC\books.txt" out=mydata1 dbms=tab replace;
getnames=yes;
run;

proc import datafile="C:\ABC\books.txt" out=mydata1 dbms=dlm replace;
delimiter='09'x;
getnames=yes;
run;

proc sort data=Mydata;
by domain;
run;

PROC SQL;
   CREATE TABLE BNN AS 
   SELECT t1.userid, 
          t1.education, 
          t1.region, 
          t1.hhsz, 
          t1.age, 
          t1.income, 
          t1.child, 
          t1.race, 
          t1.country, 
          t1.domain, 
          t1.date, 
          t1.product, 
          t1.qty, 
          t1.price
      FROM ABC.mydata t1
      WHERE t1.domain CONTAINS 'barnes';
QUIT;

proc sort data=abc.barnes;
by userid;
run;

data count;
set abc.barnes;
by userid;
cnt+1;
if first.userid then cnt=1;
run; 

proc print data=count (obs=10);
title 'Top 10 Observations of Customers with Most Purchases from B&N';
run;

proc sort data=Mydata;
by domain;
run;

PROC SQL;