RETAIN statement help

Accepted Solution Solved
New Contributor
Accepted Solution

RETAIN statement help

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting a question to the SAS community, so my apologies ahead of time if it's unclear. I'm having some difficulty with the RETAIN statement in my SAS program.

My dataset includes thousands of emergency department records of people bitten by animals, and some of the patients have returned for multiple rechecks for the same bite incident. I only want to count the first time a patient is seen for a recheck visit. It gets complicated because I can't simply look for the first time a recheck is recorded for a given patient - sometimes a patient comes back for two sets of rechecks (maybe they get bit by multiple animals over the course of many years).

Currently bitevisit is coded as 1 or 3 for the initial incident visit and 2 for recheck visit. I figured that I would create a new variable called rechecksamevisit to separate recheck visits.

I’m trying to assign a value to a new variable “rechecksamevisit” based on the value of another variable “bitevisit” in the PREVIOUS observation. If the previous observation shows a value of 2 for “bitevisit,” then I’ll know that it’s a subsequent recheck visit and will be disregarded later on. However, when I look at my new dataset, it seems to be setting the value of “rechecksamevisit” based on the value of “bitevisit” in the SAME observation. I’ve tried the coding a couple different ways, but no luck. Help!!!

data ed.bite_testrecheck;
      set ed.bite_byvisit;
      retain holdbitevisit;
      if bitevisit=2 then rechecksamevisit=1;
      if bitevisit=1 or bitevisit=3 then rechecksamevisit=0;
      holdbitevisit=bitevisit;
      output;
run;

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎12-19-2016 12:48 PM
Super User

Re: RETAIN statement help