Proc tabulate - limiting/restraining

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

Proc tabulate - limiting/restraining

I am very new to proc tabulate, moving over from DDE for table creation.

I have 2 related questions regarding proc tabulate.

I have two sites, call them site1 and site2. I have events, 36 in total, 17 for site1 and 19 for site2. each site can only have its event take place, site1 will only experience event 1-17, and site2 will only experience events 18-36.

Proc tabulate puts site_1 and site_2 against these, so that what is printing is

site_1 X event1 - event36

site_2 X event1- event36.

I would like each site to sent against the applicable variables, not all vars.

,I would like site1 put against ALL of its possible 17 events, and site2 against ALL of its 19 events.

I have enabled all the "print if missing" options that I could find in my searching before asking this question.

Now, there will be lines of all zeros printed for both sites, but if the event never takes place for either site, the entire event is not printed.

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎02-18-2015 06:15 PM
Grand Advisor

Re: Proc tabulate - limiting/restraining

Actually you're pretty close. The bit you want is a custom multilabel format based on your ae_code.

Have two codes ae_code1 and ae_code2 with the with the values separated as you would for site1/site2.

Instead of a bunch of if/then:

If ae_code in (1,2,3, <list of code values for site 1>) then ae_code1=ae_code;

if ae_code in (17,18,19, <list of codes for site 2>) then ae_code2 = ae_code;

The table statement would look more like:

table ae_code1='Operation site' ae_code2='Non-Operative site' all='Totals'  ,

onset_day=' '*(group_table=' '*n=' ' * [style=<parent>])

all='Totals' * (group_table=' ' *n=' ' * [style=<parent>])

/ misstext='0'  printmiss box='';