BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Innocent
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to statistics in general and particularly to SAS, and I would like to get help solving my problem, as following:

I have a 50 patients divided into three groups (1, 2, and 3) according to their diastolic pressure. For each patient, I measure 10 different parameters (e.g. Bicarbonate concentration, Heart rate, glucose concentration, blood volume, etc.). Each parameter was measured once every hour for five consecutive hours during the day; all measurements on patients were done at exact same time moments. Unfortunately, I have some missing data (not all parameters could be measured always).

I am trying to study if there is significant difference in parameters between the groups, and if the parameters change significantly during time.

I have been suggested to use PROC MIXED to achieve that, and MANOVA statement from PROC GLM to see if we can differentiate between groups from only the first measurement of maximum five parameters. Here is the codes:

PROC MIXEDMANOVA

proc sort data=database1;

by id zeit ;

run;

proc mixed data=database1;

class group zeit;

model HR Glu BV K HCO3 Temp Na SPO2 BP We= group zeit group*zeit /residual;

repeated zeit /type=ar(1);

lsmeans  group;

lsmeans group /pdiff;

run;

proc glm data=database1;

class group;

model   HR BV K Glu = group /ss3;

means group;

contrast '3 vs 1&2' group 2 -1 -1 1;

contrast '1 vs 3' group 0 1 -1 1;

manova h=_all_;

run;

Can anyone explain to me these codes and check if they both are correct and suitable for my study.

Thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

There is going to be difficulties with both of these codes.  PROC MIXED accepts only a single dependent variable, so you will have to try the following:

First, get the data into a "long" format.

data long;

length varname $6.;

set database1;

varname='HR'; value=HR;output;

varname='Glu'; value=Glu;output;

varname='BV';value=BV;output;