BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
LuigiRicc
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm a student. I need an help.

I'm trying to import a file from in SAS, but i need that SAS check if inside the folder in my desktop there is a file that starts with HELLO_.

This because i have the file called HELLO_PROXIMA, but i have to let the choice to another student to change the second word of the file. I can use the MACRO or everything else, but i'm stack and i don't know what to do.

thank you

11 REPLIES 11
SuryaKiran
Meteorite | Level 14

You can use x-commands to find all the files that are in a folder. http://support.sas.com/kb/45/805.html

If you don't have access to run x-commands then something like this will work

FILENAME _folder_ "%bquote(<your path>)";
data filenames(keep=memname);
  handle=dopen( '_folder_' );
  if handle > 0 then do;
    count=dnum(handle);
    do i=1 to count;
      memname=dread(handle,i);
      output filenames;
    end;
  end;
  rc=dclose(handle);
run;
filename _folder_ clear;
Thanks,
Suryakiran
LuigiRicc
Calcite | Level 5
i used this:

FILENAME _folder_ "%bquote(<your path>)";
data filenames(keep=memname);
handle=dopen( '_folder_' );
if handle > 0 then do;
count=dnum(handle);
do i=1 to count;
memname=dread(handle,i);
output filenames;
end;
end;
rc=dclose(handle);
run;
filename _folder_ clear;

now i have my filenames with the list of everithing is inside my folder. How can i insert one of it inside a %LET option?
SuryaKiran
Meteorite | Level 14
/* Instead of %let use INTO: in proc sql */

PROC SQL noprint;
SELECT memname INTO: File
FROM filenames
/* Add where clause here to get only one file you have */
;
QUIT;

/* If you have multiple file to add */ 

PROC SQL noprint;
SELECT memname INTO: Files separated by ','
FROM filenames
/* Add where clause here to get all files you have */
;
QUIT;

/* Then with a macro you can import all files */
%MACRO IMPORT_FILES();
%DO I=1 %TO %sysfunc(countw("&Files"));
%LET File=%SCAN("&Files",&i,",");
proc import