Principal Component Analysis

Occasional Contributor

Principal Component Analysis

Hello!

I am new to SAS and am using the PRINCCOMP tool to identify the most important inputs which affect the target value. I ran this tool and cannot find a place where I can see the list of the principal components ranked by their strength. I see there are principals shown in the chart but represented as numerical values - I mean the original values must have been renamed or code - I wonder where I can see the listing of the most important factors with their NAMES FULLY SHOWN?

Thanks!

D

Super User

Re: Principal Component Analysis

The default output posts the eigenvectors, which are the principal components.  The Eigenvalues>Proportion show you the contribution of each eigenvector to the overall variation.

The principal components are listed in order of contribution by default.  In the sample I ran, the names did show fully, are yours getting truncated? If so show the code and let us know the version of SAS and your OS.

You may also want to explain more about what you're trying to achieve? Your question makes me wonder if principal component is the appropriate procedure. 

Occasional Contributor

thank you for your reply...well I have like 90 parameters which were recorded for 500 observations of a certain social phenomenon....I need to identify the most important affectors in the 90 variables which were collected - to be used in the genetic optimization procedure in excel....I am aware of the need to reduce the number of the predictors to maximize the generalization ability of the model....I am using sas 9.1 windows xp sp3.

what would you recommend?

by the way - do you maybe knwo how may degrees of freedom are allowed for 500 observations? need a calculator for thatSmiley Happy

Trusted Advisor