BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
arnaudd
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to build a macro who plots several fits depending on the degree of freedom in a proc gam. Here are my code:

%LET df_ind = 4;

%MACRO PlotFit;

%do &df_ind=4 %to 15;

PROC GAM data= C.one;

model cost=spline(age,df=&df_ind)/DIST=GAMMA;

output out=C.Fit&df_ind_M p;

run;

title "Fit with df=&df_ind";

proc gplot C.Fit&df_ind_M;

plot P_cost*age cost*age/overlay;

symbol interpol=join l=1 w=2;

run;

%end;

%MEND PlotFit;

%PlotFit;

The problem is: there's just one fit in my output (corresponding to df_in=4). I don't understand why I haven't a fit for each value of df_ind from 4 to 15. I'm quite new with SAS macro so excuse my lack of knowledge!Loop

Thanks in advance,

Arnaud

4 REPLIES 4
RichardinOz
Quartz | Level 8

Couple of things to note just looking at your code

1. The statement %LET df_ind = 4; achieves nothing.  But I doubt it has any impact on the result.
  2. It looks like you are trying to create individual datasets for each value of df_in.  But the dataset name has to be C.Fit&df_ind._M with a period (dot) after df_ind.  Other wise SAS will look for a macro variable &df_ind_M which is undefined. 

Can you show us the log? At least the part which reports any errors or warnings, and the note(s) relating to any output tables that are created.

Richard in Oz

arnaudd
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Richard in Oz,

I corrected my code with your remarks. The log is just the code lines of my macro. There is no error/warning...

Thanks for your answer,

Arnaud

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Since the last line is a call to the macro then you should see notes and messages as it tries to run it.  If you are not then you probably have unbalanced quotes, parenthesis or other things that is causing to not see the macro call.  Sometimes it is easiest to just save your program, close SAS and start over to clear up that type of issue.

AncaTilea
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi.