BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sunilpusarla
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi There,
Good afternoon. Though I know how to extract the string using functions like index, substr, scan, and find etc., I want to do it with perl functions.
I started learning the Perl functions and I stuck at the below scenario. I need to extract the text inside the ending parenthesis (if there are multiple in an observation) into a new
variable. Before using the perl substitution function, I want to check weather I am getting the correct string. I tried the following but not
able to go further. Would anyone please help me where I am going wrong or how to get the ending parenthesis? (my syntax is working for 1,2 and
the last observation but not for the 3rd where I am getting the string from first parenthesis).

/* Test/Example data */
data a;
  length a $30;
  a = 'MCHC (g/dL)';
  output;
  a = 'RDW (%)';
  output;
  a = 'Granulocyte (immature) (%)';
  output;
  a = 'ptt';
  output;
run;

/* My tried code */
data b;
  set a;
  if _N_ eq 1 then do;
    rc = 1;
    retain rc;
    rc = prxparse('/\([\w|\W]|[\%]\)s+$/');
  end;
  new = prxmatch(rc,a);
run;

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks,
Sunil

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Hi

It's always a bit try-and-error for getting regular expressions right. I believe below RegEx should work.

And just for terminology: The functions used (eg. prxmatch ) are SAS functions allowing you to use Perl Regular Expression syntax. There are other variations of the Regular Expression syntax (and SAS initially implemented its own as well - used by functions like rxmatch). The Perl syntax is today a quasi standard and the right thing to use as it is implemented in a lot of programming environments (so it's a transferrable skill set for you).

data b;
  set a;

if _N_ eq 1 then
    do;
      retain rc;