BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vishyy
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi All.

I am new to SAS and started exploring.

I am bit confused with using PUT and INPUT, please help me.

I have a column named Birth_date of type numeric and length 8 Format and Informat MMDDYY10.

Q1.I am running the below code snippets to get the b_date from Birth_Date 

data birth;
set credit card;
b_date= input(Birth_Date,10.);
format b_date date9.
run;

Why for Birth_Date 01/08/1966, b_date = 22JAN1960 ?

Q2. Running the below code Snippets.

data birth;
set credit card;
b_date= input(Birth_Date,10.);
run:

Why for Birth_Date 01/08/1966,  b_date = 21?

Q3) Running the below code Snippets.

data birth;
set credit card;
b_date= put(Birth_Date,10.);
run:

Why for Birth_Date 01/08/1966,  b_date = 2199?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

When SAS is instructed to perform an operation on a character string, but the value fed to that operation is numeric, SAS has to perform a numeric-to-character conversion.

Most of the time, SAS generates a 12-character-long string.  So if the numeric value coming in is 3.14, SAS converts this to 8 blanks, followed by the characters "3.14".  The conversion process right-hand justifies the original numeric value within the 12-character-long string.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Super User @MichelleHomes has shared a really useful blog post about PUT and INPUT and how to remember the difference.

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
Reeza
Super User

Birth date is already a SAS date. 

Insread of PUT/INPUT apply a FORMAT statememt. 

Format birth_date DATE9.;

. This section of the SAS documentation covers SAS dates quite thoroughly.