BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ebills
Fluorite | Level 6

Hey all,

Please bare with me, as I am very new to SAS/SQL. I took the online tutorial classes for SAS and dug deep in text books and youtube videos. I thought I had a good grasp on the basics and then my boss let me know that he'd like my first task to be done using SQL.

So, I'm still trying to wrap my mind around it all; is this done in conjunction with one another, how am I going to do this most effectively, etc.

So, here is my task. There's a LOT of data (observations).

• From a bunch of different tables (admissions, disharges, fiscal) I have to create a program that shows the current tenancy of patients in various hospitals.
    • as far as variables are concerned, I have admission dates, discharge dates, hospital codes (in lieu of the hospital name) and patient ID's.
    • many patients are listed numerous times for past visits.
  • I would like to left join the admissions/discharges so that it if a value is missing from a discharge, then obviously the patient is still there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just don't even know where to begin and is this even possible by just doing SQL, or do I switch off between traditional SAS steps and SQL?

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

First, figure out how to match which admission with a discharge, is there a visit ID for starters?

If so you can do a left join and your admissions without discharges will be clear.

Or you can check which visitID's are not in the discharge table. 

Yes, this can all be done in SQL given what you've stated so far.

PGStats
Opal | Level 21

To add to 's advice, look into the COALESCE function to replace missing discharge dates with today's date, as in

coalesce(DISCHARGE.date, today() + 1) - ADMISSION.date as tenancy,

PG

PG
ballardw
Super User

One approach:

Get the latest admin date, if it is a SAS date variable ( and really should be) then the MAX when grouped by patient id and hospital