BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
elwayfan446
Barite | Level 11

Hi All,

I have been a basic SAS user for a couple of years now.  I have learned a lot from everyone in these communities.  I am a certified Base Programmer, however, I use more PROC SQL than anything so I am very rusty on the SAS syntax.  Most datasets I have created have been monthly snapshots of a loan portfolio over the past couple of years.  They are a snapshot in time, not historical.  I have these datasets from each month going backward.

I have been asked to start adding analysis to our reporting that tracks trends on things like delinquency as of each quarter for the past year and then project what we can expect over the next year.  We use Tableau for these types of reports and I connect my SAS datasets to them and do the summarization within them.  That being said, I don't really know where to start or where exactly I need to go to learn how to accomplish this type of reporting.  A few questions that come to mind:

1. How does my data need to be set up in order to do this type of reporting?  I have several month end tables, but that seems very difficult to try to pull together for this type of reporting.  I normally pull from each monthly snapshot to show the data at that point in time.  If I insert each record into one table, that is almost 500,000 records for each month.  To append that much each month seems like it would take forever to process.
  2. Where do I learn to do the forecasting and trending?  Is there a way to do that in SAS and then just pull it into Tableau or should that type of thing be done in Tableau?  Tableau seems more of a reporting mechanism and not where the trending itself can be done.  It looks as if there are a lot of tools within SAS and SAS EG to do this type of reporting.