BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
oskarseriksson
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm about to perform an analysis with two levels, something I have never done before in SAS and to be honest it's been a couple of years since my last multilevel analysis.

I have to levels, REGIONAL and LOCAL, where the latter is (obviously) a subgroup of the former. My dependent variable is Y and my control variables are A and B, i. e. y = intercept + a + b + error, on two levels.

I want both the intercept and the coefficients to be "random", and when I have done that I want to be able to measure the adjusted explanatory power on both levels in order to find out how much is explained on each level. I could settle with just letting the intercept vary.

I have given it a couple of shots with PROC GLM and PROC GLIMMIX and PROC MIXED but I haven't done it right yet because my outputs look weird and my results are completely ridiculous.

What code would you use?

Merry xmas to you, fellow SAS-users!

O

6 REPLIES 6
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

Depending on the characteristics of the dependent variable Y, I would use either PROC MIXED or PROC GLIMMIX, and since you can do almost everything that MIXED does in GLIMMIX, plus more, I offer the following code;

proc glimmix data=yourdata;

class A B regional local subjid; /* Assumes that the control variables are categorical.  If not, we will address as you provide more information */

model y=A B A*B/solution; /* Fixed effects */

random regional regional*local/subject=subjid s; /* Multiple level data random effects */

random intercept A B A*B/subject=subjid(regional local) s; /*Random slopes and intercepts for the control variables and their interaction */

Good luck.

Steve Denham

oskarseriksson
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Steve!

Y is continuous. The control variables A and B are also continuous.

I'll start with the code you provided and I look forward to more input from you! You are really helpful and I appreciate it.