Many to Many Merge using Hashing..?

Contributor

Many to Many Merge using Hashing..?

How to perform many to many megrge using Hashing.....?

We need to pefomr merge on two tables A and B...

Table B needs to be loaded into memory....I need to implement three scenarios:

If A=1 and B=1 then

We can implement this using RC=0

If A=1 and B=0 then

We can implement this using RC<>0

If A=0 and B=1 then

What about this scenario...How to implement this scenario(Basically Right Join) using Hashing...

Please suggest..

Contributor

Re: Many to Many Merge using Hashing..?

Please find the existing data step too... I need to perfom this using Hashing...

Ideas are welcomed...

data matching;

merge abc(in=a) def (in = b);

by x;

if a and b then aa = 1;

if b and not a then bb = 2;

if a and not b then cc = 3;

run;

Contributor

Any updates by any Experts..?

Respected Advisor

@bhoopesh:

I am no expert, but Any updates on sample data sets, both input and output? Your question is too general to be answered efficiently, so please facilitate it a little by give people something to work on.

Haikuo

Contributor

Hi Kuo,

Basically I need to implement Right Join using Hash....

I know Left join can be easily done by loading smaller table into memory and then math it one by one using RC....

But what about RIGHT JOIN...Is it possible using Hash...?

I think this is the most difficult question as of now...

PROC Star

You've posted this a couple of times but, thus far, still have not described the problem sufficiently for at least some of us to understand.  It would help if you provided to example datasets (provided as datasteps), the code you have tried, and a third dataset showing the results you want to obtain.

Why do you have to do this using a hash?  How many records will exist in the real two datasets?

Contributor

Hi Arthur and All,

I was not able to post the code, yesterday as i was busy... Sorry for inconvinence..

Please find the code as attached:

data load;