BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
TrueTears
Obsidian | Level 7

I am a beginner SAS coder and I have the following (excerpt) SAS macro:

%macro bts(input1, input2);

proc sql noprint;
select count(*) into :num_record
from b.&input1;
quit;
%put &num_record;

proc sql;
create table c.datafile as
select 
sqrt(&num_record)*(m_&input2/s_&input2+1/3*sum(x_&input2)/(&num_record*s_&input2**3)*(m_&input2/s_&input2)**2+1/(6*&num_record)*sum(x_&input2)/(&num_record*s_&input2**3)) as &input2

from

(select 
mean(&input2) as m_&input2, std(&input2) as s_&input2, (&input2-calculated m_&input2)**3 as x_&input2
from b.&input1);
quit;
%mend;

%bts(inv_per, cr_6m); 

The error that I get is:

WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference M_ not resolved.
&m_cr_6m

The variable cr_6m just consists of numbers and I think the reason I'm getting an error is because of the underscores. How can I fix this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

Yes, that would mess things up! Try:

data somename;
set somename(rename=(
t_b_&input2.5=&input2
));
run;

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

I cannot see how you would get that error message from the code you posted. Can you post the log instead?  You could turn on the MPRINT option to see what code the macro is generating.

It really looks like the error message is generated from code like this with a space after the underscore.

&m_ cr_6m

There is also a posibility that you are trying to generate macro variable name on the fly from other macro variables and the SAS parser is getting confused.  This can sometimes be solved by either deriving the name first before using it.

%let suffix = cr_6m ;
%let mvar= m_&suffix ;
%put value = &&mvar ;

Or by wrapping the expression in %UNQUOTE() function.

TrueTears
Obsidian | Level 7