Macro Vaiable in Variable Name

Occasional Contributor

Macro Vaiable in Variable Name

[ Edited ]

Hi,

This is my first time posting, so I'm sorry if this is in the wrong location! I am new to the macro language and am trying to write one of my first macros. I'm trying to use a do loop to loop through variables with a number contained in them (for example variable1, variable2, variable3, etc.), however, there is one variable that has a number in the middle of it (ex varia#ble). I am able to loop through all of the variables when they end with a number, but the code gets stopped by the varible with the number in the middle. 

My current code writes the variable with a number in the middle as varia&i.ble and it's read as two separate variables: varia1 and ble. Is there a way to write code so that it reads variab#ble as one complete variable?

See below for an outline of my code:

%macro ref(var);

data test2;
		set dataset;

%do i=1 %to 5;
			if apple=1 and orange&i ne . and banana&i in (4,.) then
				grape=2;

if apple=1 and orange&i ne . and banana&i in (1,2,3) then
				grape=1;

if grape=' ' and apple=1 and orange&i ne . and pe&iar then
				grape=2;
		%end;
%mend ref;

%ref(1);
%ref(2);
%ref(3);
%ref(4);
%ref(5);

Super User

Re: Macro Vaiable in Variable Name

I corrected one mistake in code by accident in your post 

ref(3) was missing a bracket.

You should add a period after the macro variable. 

if grape=' ' and apple=1 and orange&i ne . and pe&i.ar then
				grape=2;

Super User
Super User

[ Edited ]

The code you posted doesn't match what you said in your question.  In particular you are missing the period that let's the macro processor know that you have ended the macro variable reference.

In particular this 

pe&iar 

is referencing a macro variable named IAR.  If you want it to reference the macro variable named I then add the period.

pe&i.ar