Macro Processing

Contributor

Macro Processing

I need some assistance. I am new to macro processing. 

What I want to do is create a macro that can be used for evaluating errors on records.

I have a table that looks like this:

Data qgrid;

Input strategy: $6. queue:$2.;

datalines;

MAY EX

MAY G2

MAY XR

MAY J2

MAY XX

MAY G8

MAY GR

MAY X2

JUNE EX

JUNE G2

JUNE XR

JUNE J2

JUNE XX

JUNE G8

JUNE GR

JUNE X2

JUNE MA

JACX EX

JACX G2

JACX XR

JACX J2

JACX XX

;

run;

First, I need the strategy and queue variables from this table to be macro variables so that I can pull the values I need to look for in the table from the same variables in the data record.  (at least this is what I think I need)

Second, the qgrid table represents a queue hierarchy and any queue above the one I select would resolve to a non error.  Anything below would be an error.

So, if I am looking for strategy JUNE with a queue of XX then any queue value above XX (EX G2 XR J2) and XX would all be allowed so would not be an error.  Any queue value below XX (G8 GR X2 MA) would all be an error since they are lower in the queue hierarchy. 

I would need to take the strategy value from the data record and have that value be used to evaluate the matching strategy from the queue hierarchy table.

I know I need to assign the strategy value from the data record to a macro variable.

I also need to write a macro to read each record and evaluate if the queue assignment on the record is an error or non error based on the hierarchy.

I hope this makes sense.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Cindy

Super User

Re: Macro Processing

Some examples of the other input data and the expected output data. I would say that you actually mean "occurring earlier in the data set than XX" instead of above.

Does the order of your queue variables change in any months, other than possibly not occurring? For example is G8 always after XX whenever it occurs?