BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
cdobrowolski
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi there, I am brand new to SAS, and am using the University edition on a newer Macbook with OS Sierra 10.12.3. I keep getting the same error message: "A shared folder named "myfolders" was not found on the virtual machine. See the FAQ for details." when I open SAS in my browser, despite having created and added the file 'myfolders', as directed. Any help would be appreciated. 

18 REPLIES 18
LaurieF
Barite | Level 11

Make sure that you have the folder's definition as Auto-mount and Make Permanent. That's what works for me.

cdobrowolski
Fluorite | Level 6
I have tried both of those things already, unfortunately.
LaurieF
Barite | Level 11

Hmm. Puzzling. Have you tried dropping the session and restarting? I'm sure you have - just having to check everything.

LaurieF
Barite | Level 11

In the VirtualBox log (Machine*Show Log), can you find something like this:

Host path '/Users/username/Documents/SAS/SASUniversityEdition/myfolders', map name 'myfolders', writable, automount=true, create_symlinks=false, missing=false

and this:

00:00:37.194416 VMMDev: Guest Log: 00:00:00.008954 automount VBoxServiceAutoMountWorker: Shared folder "myfolders" was mounted to "/mnt/hgfs/myfolders"

cdobrowolski
Fluorite | Level 6
Hm no I don’t see anything like that unfortunately.

LaurieF
Barite | Level 11

I've just dropped my session and restarted SAS. The first reference to SharedFolders host service was at 00:00:01.41 seconds in - so pretty early on. It's just after the CPUID dump, if that helps.

cdobrowolski
Fluorite | Level 6

Hm, I have found this:

00:00:01.778272 File system of '/Users/chrisanna_m_d/VirtualBox VMs/SAS University Edition/Snapshots' (snapshots) is hfs

00:00:01.778294 File system of '/Users/chrisanna_m_d/VirtualBox VMs/SAS University Edition/SAS_University_Edition.vmdk' is hfs

00:00:01.868260 Shared clipboard service loaded

00:00:01.868284 Shared clipboard mode: Bidirectional