BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TheBeach
Calcite | Level 5

Hey!

I am a total beginner in SAS but I have to use it for my bachelor thesis. So my problem is: I have this data set of which you can see a very small extract below (form view). I now want to loop through this table and for every Underlying_Symbol, every date, every Expiration and every strk_prc I want to create a new observation in a new table that contains this information and another variable calculated from the sum over the tradeprices of trades with that specific Underlying, date, ....

It would even help me if someone can show me how I loop over these four variables of my data, especially the date.

Thanks in advance!!!

3 REPLIES 3
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Please post example data in a data step with datalines. A macro for converting exsiting datasets to such a data step can be found here: https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/How-to-create-a-data-step-version-of-your-dat....

Advice for posting code is found here: https://communities.sas.com/t5/help/faqpage/faq-category-id/posting?nobounce.

Posting Word documents (or Excel files) is not helpful, as many of us won't or can't open them from the web for security reasons.

Program text can be easily copy/pasted to our SAS environment and submitted.

ballardw
Super User

Also along with a small example data set, should be just enough records to show the type of data and use cases you have, an example of the desired output would be helpful.

It may not hurt to describe what will be done with the resultant data set as well. A common issue for many new users of SAS depending on prior experience to attempt to duplicate step-by-step a process used by other software that can be done in SAS with procedures.