BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
soumya12
Calcite | Level 5

I have a dataset of several hospitals. There are several variables. One of the variables is MEASURE ID. I want to keep only those rows that have MEASURE ID= PSI_90 and drop the rest of the rows. How can I do that? I am a beginner so please excuse me if the question is too basic. Thanks in advance.

SU

7 REPLIES 7
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

Use next code:

data want;
    set have;
        where MEASURE ID= PSI_90;
run;
soumya12
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Schmuel:

Thanks for your reply. I tried that but all I get is a new dataset which is empty. Has 0 observations. Could you please advise. My original dataset looks like the one in the screen shot attached.

SU

VirtualBox_windows10_14_03_2017_00_31_51.png
ballardw
Super User

Since you did not provide any data in the original post @Shmuel had to guess that you meant when one variable was equal to another not a text value.

data want;
    set have;
    where MEASURE ID= "PSI_90";
run;

might work, but your posted picture shows a value of PSI_90_SAFETY. If that is the value you are looking for then that is the string to place between the quotes.

Spelling counts in programming.

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

I see your issue:

You are not looking for 

MEASURE ID= PSI_90;

as there is no variabled named PSI_90.

NOR for

MEASURE ID= "PSI_90";

as yvalues are in a format of:  PSI_nn_xxxxx

So the right code should be:

data want;
    set have;
    where upcase(substr(MEASURE ID,1,6)) = "PSI_90";
run;

soumya12
Calcite | Level 5

I am looking for scores for only those rows in which Measure ID= PSI_90_SAFETY. So, I want the first two variables in my resulting dataset to look like: ProviderID, PSI_90_Score. The second variable PSI_90_Score is renamed from the variable Score. And I am looking for scores only for PSI_90_SAFETY and drop everything else. Please help!!

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

Do you use any documentation of sas ?