Installing SAS 9.3 on a HPC linux cluster

New Contributor

Installing SAS 9.3 on a HPC linux cluster

in
Hello,

I am new to SAS and I have been asked to install v9.3 on our HPC linux cluster. I wondered if anyone had any documentation for planning and installing SAS 9.3 on a HPC cluster. I'm very much at sea. I've taken a stab at working throught the installation, however there were a number of points that I did not fully understand. The main issues are:

Our license appears to suggest that this is a "planned deployment" and therefore a deployment plan is needed. That does make sensem however how to I find/access the plan?

Should I create a system wide account called "sas" and then us this for the installation? Trivial point perhaps. I started to run setup.sh as root, however should I work as "sas" from the beginning.

The most confusing issue was that the installation script/wizard appeared to want to lock my installation to the machine that I was working on. This happened to be one of the login nodes, however I do wish SAS to be visible/usable accross the cluster -- on both login and compute nodes. Am I correct in thinking that the installation will comprise of server and client elements -- do you actually run a server/service on one of the nodes in the cluster and then use the client infrastruction to communicate with the server processes?

Apologies for appearing so green. Your advice would be appreciated, please. As I say it might be best if someone has a basic installation guide for SAS on a computing cluster.

Best regards -- David.

Super User

Re: Installing SAS 9.3 on a HPC linux cluster

Deployment plan: usually, you can chose from standard plans in the configuration wizard. If you have problem matching the plan to what you have licensed, or you want a site specific plan file, contact your SAS reprasentative for guidance.