Importing an Excel workbook and retaining all formatting with DDE?

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

Importing an Excel workbook and retaining all formatting with DDE?

I have an excel workbook with many sheets, weird formatting, pivot tables, and macros.  What I do as part of a quarterly report is copy the workbook from one directory and paste it to another directory on another server.  I have to do this for many workbooks and it takes forever. 

I would very much like to automate this procedure in a SAS base program and implement this as part of a SAS EG stored process. 

I know the basics of VBA, and DDE, I have some experience working with the Excel XP tagset.

Does anyone know if there is a way to import a multi-sheet workbook while retaining all of its weird formatting and tables and then turn around and export it again.  Or to use SAS to copy paste the file without even importing it into SAS and having to worry about how SAS handles the data?

Thanks in advance!

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎05-07-2013 06:55 PM
Super User

Re: Importing an Excel workbook and retaining all formatting with DDE?

Posted in reply to DavidBess

See this discussion.

Essentially, you can use SAS X commands to copy the file over.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Respected Advisor

If that's possible I'd like to see it.  There are so many possibilites for "weird formatting".

Seems like the only reason to read data from EXCEL workbook is to process the values with SAS.  If you're not doing that then leave it be.

When you say copy and paste takes forever can you give more detail about how that is being done.

Occasional Contributor

Posted in reply to data_null__