BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
_maldini_
Barite | Level 11

I am a total newbie. Thanks in advance for your mercy.

I am looking for the step to import a sas7bdat file into SAS Studio.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Libnames point to the folder that contain the datasets not the individual datasets.  You can then reference the datasets by using the LIBREF and the member name.

libname mydata "/home/username/MyData" ;

proc print data=mydata.hivdat ;

run;

In addition to the traditional LIBREF.MEMNAME syntax you can also reference the physical file name by enclosing it it quotes.

proc print data="/home/username/MyData/hivdat.sas7bdat";

run;

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Reeza
Super User

Try the tutorials and the Help Centre.

Make sure to set up your shared folder and have the file under folders/myfolders/your_sas_file.sas7bdat

libname myfiles '/folders/myfolders/';

proc print data=myfiles.your_sas_file;

run;

FAQ:

SAS University Edition Help Center

See the section regarding using your own data.

Youtube Tutorials:

SAS Analytics U - YouTube

_maldini_
Barite | Level 11

The procedure for SAS Studio is different. Here's the step that works for an Excel file:

LIBNAME mylib "/home/username/MyData/PH 627/";

filename PH627 "/home/username/MyData/PH 627/SBPdata.xls";

run;

proc import DATAFILE="/home/username/MyData/PH 627/SBPdata.xls"

DBMS=xls

OUT=mylib.PH627;

run;

Reeza
Super User

Ok...I should have asked for clarification.I assumed you were using SAS University Edition, but it sounds like you're using SAS On Demand for Academics instead?

You've posted code for an excel file while your original question was for a SAS file, .sas7bdat? Is your question answered or do you still need help?

There are some good posts on here from Cynthia Zender with how to load data to SAS On Demand.