BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ruchiy
Calcite | Level 5

I am trying to call excel macro from sas 9.3 EG connection from my local server.

But I am getting the following error in the initial step itself of opening a excel. I am new to SAS DDE, please help me

17         %sysexec md "&path.Report";

18         options noxwait noxsync obs=max;

_______

ERROR 13-12: Unrecognized SAS option name NOXWAIT.

18       ! options noxwait noxsync obs=max;

_______

ERROR 13-12: Unrecognized SAS option name NOXSYNC.

19         X "'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\EXCEL.exe'"

19       !                                                                 ;

4 REPLIES 4
ruchiy
Calcite | Level 5

I am not getting anything

its simply saying

19         X "dir"

19       !        ;

23         %LET _CLIENTTASKLABEL=;

24         %LET _CLIENTPROJECTPATH=;

25         %LET _CLIENTPROJECTNAME=;

26         %LET _SASPROGRAMFILE=;

28         ;*';*";*/;quit;run;

29         ODS _ALL_ CLOSE;

32         QUIT; RUN;

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Issuing

X "dir";

in my local SAS session (not EG) resulted in an open cmd window with the contents of the directory listing and a prompt (issued without noxwait).

Open your Server list, right mouse click on the active server, tab "Software", "View Initialization Log". This may give you a clue where the server actually resides.

RichardinOz
Quartz | Level 8

Microsoft DDE only works when both the application issuing the DDE statements and the target application are on the same Windows platform.  Typically, when using SAS EG, the core SAS application resides on a server (which may or may not be a Windows server) but the Excel instance is on a local machine.  SAS EG, even though it is located locally, is not itself involved in DDE; it merely issues SAS code to the server to be executed.  Use EG file import/export to move data between Excel and SAS.