BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Torri92
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to sas and I was wondering if it is possible to test a random percent of data. For example, I have a large data set and I want to test between 8% and 20% of the data at random. How would I go about doing something like this? Basically what I have been trying to do is use a do loop with the ranuni command but I can't get my desired specifications. Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

It sounds like you need two random number streams.  One determines the percentage of observations, then the second actually selects the observations.  For example, in this formula 0.06 represents the size of the interval from 0.08 to 0.14:

data subset;

if _n_=1 then percent_to_select = 0.08 + 0.06 * ranuni(12345);

retain percent_to_select;

set population;

if ranuni(13579) < percent_to_select;

run;

Here, percent_to_select is continuous.  You could apply a function to it, if you want discrete values.

Good luck.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Astounding
PROC Star

It sounds like you need two random number streams.  One determines the percentage of observations, then the second actually selects the observations.  For example, in this formula 0.06 represents the size of the interval from 0.08 to 0.14:

data subset;

if _n_=1 then percent_to_select = 0.08 + 0.06 * ranuni(12345);

retain percent_to_select;

set population;

if ranuni(13579) < percent_to_select;

run;

Here, percent_to_select is continuous.  You could apply a function to it, if you want discrete values.

Good luck.

verdantsphinx
Fluorite | Level 6

proc surveyselect data=have out=want samprate=0.2 outall;

run;

The variable Selected equals 1 for an observation selected for the sample, and equals 0 for an observation not selected.

FriedEgg
SAS Employee