BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
shihabur
Obsidian | Level 7

I am a beginner in SAS macro and using SAS University Edition. I am trying to write a macro to print a report. This macro will print mean of the variable "Price" in the title of the report. Now there are ways to produce mean in proc report or proc summary but I am not sure how I can calculate mean within the data procedure . I am assuming that I need to calculate the mean in the data procedure and then assign a macro variable so that I can include that in the title of the report.

So my main problem is calculating the mean in a way so that I can put it in the report title. Any help, clue are hugely appreciated.

Here's the sample data-

data exprev;
input Emp_ID $ 1-10 Sale_Type 14-16 Quantity Price Cost;

datalines;
99999999 1 2 92.60 20.70
99999999 2 14 51.20 12.10
99999999 3 25 31.10 15.65
99999999 2 30 123.70 59.00
99999999 2 8 113.40 28.45
99999999 2 7 41.00 9.25
120458 3 2 146.40 36.70
99999999 2 11 40.20 20.20
99999999 2 100 11.80 5.00
120454 3 20 71.00 32.30
120845 1 19 64.30 28.65
120538 1 22 110.80 29.35
;
run;

And here's my macro code-

%macro newreport(type);
proc print data=work.exprev n='Number of observations for the order type: ';
sum quantity price;
where Sale_Type = &type;
title "Mean price for Sale_Type &type is : ";
run;
%mend;

%newreport(3)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Note: Code really should be pasted in the code box opened using the the forum's {i} icon on the menu above. The main message window will reformat pasted text. In this case all of the rows of data as pasted have errors because columns 1-10 as in you input actually read the first two fields into the Emp_id variable.

This will create a macro variable named mean var you could reference in the Title

proc sql noprint;
   select mean(price) into :Meanvar
   from exprev;
run;