BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
AnaV
Calcite | Level 5

Hi.

I am new to SAS and I need to import several .csv files simultaneously into sas. I started the procedure using proc import but I have too many files to import then one by one. Here is what I did:

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.INSTOWN2000Q1

DATAFILE= "F:\SAS Institutional Ownership\46_q1_2000.csv"

DBMS=CSV REPLACE;

GETNAMES=YES;

DATAROW=2;

RUN;

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.INSTOWN2000Q2

DATAFILE= "F:\SAS Institutional Ownership\45_q2_2000.csv"

DBMS=CSV REPLACE;

GETNAMES=YES;

DATAROW=2;

RUN;

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.INSTOWN2000Q4

DATAFILE= "F:\SAS Institutional Ownership\43_q4_2000.csv"

DBMS=CSV REPLACE;

GETNAMES=YES;

DATAROW=2;

RUN;

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.INSTOWN2000Q3

DATAFILE= "F:\SAS Institutional Ownership\44_q3_2000.csv"

DBMS=CSV REPLACE;

GETNAMES=YES;

DATAROW=2;

RUN;

data instown2000;

set WORK.INSTOWN2000Q1 WORK.INSTOWN2000Q2 WORK.INSTOWN2000Q3 WORK.INSTOWN2000Q4;

shrout3=shrout1*1000000;

instown=shares/shrout3;

if shrout3=0 then delete;

if stkcdesc= 'COM'or stkcdesc='CMA' or stkcdesc='CMB' or stkcdesc='CMC' or stkcdesc=''  ;

run;

I have many more files in my "F:\SAS Institutional Ownership/ folder.

Thank you for your support

8 REPLIES 8
MS_Egyptian
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi AnaV,

As I know Till Now SAS didn't develop a technique to import several CSV files at once. but, you can use macro program to do that i.e.

%Macro ReadCSV (infile , outfile );

PROC IMPORT OUT= &ofile

DATAFILE= &infile

DBMS=CSV REPLACE;

GETNAMES=YES;

DATAROW=2;

RUN;

%Mend ReadCSV;

%ReadCSV("F:\SAS Institutional Ownership\46_q1_2000.csv", work.ofile1);

%ReadCSV( "F:\SAS Institutional Ownership\45_q2_2000.csv", work.ofile);

and so on for other files

also there is other advanced technique for reading all files from one folder at once - using macros also.

good luck

AxCo
Calcite | Level 5