How to generate a data set for given covariance structure

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

How to generate a data set for given covariance structure

Please help me with my problem. I used following Macro programme to generate a data set for given cov. or corr. structure for my research( I am a graduate student). These data coming from only NORMAL distribution. But I need data from several distribution like cauchy, chisquared, web, lognormal, exponential, etc..Please can anybody tell me how I develop this to get data set from other distribution.. Thank you so much.

%macro corr2data(outdata, corrmat, n , full='T', corr='T');

proc iml;

use &corrmat;

read all var _num_  into C;

rn = nrow(C);

cn = ncol(C);

if (cn = rn & %upcase(&full) ="F") then do;

do i = 1 to rn;

do j = i to cn;

if i = j & C[i, j] = . then C[i,j] = 1;

if  i ^= j & C[i,j]=. then C[i,j]=C[j,i];

end;

end;

end;

if %upcase(&corr) = "F" then do; /*converting the covariance to correlation*/

do i = 1 to rn;

do j = 1 to cn;

if i ^=j then C[i,j] = C[i, j]/(sqrt(C[i,i])*sqrt(C[j,j]));

end;

end;

do i = 1 to rn;

C[i,i] = 1;

end;

end;

if (cn = rn & sum(abs(C-t(C))) =0 & min(eigval(C)) > 0 & max(abs(C)) <= 1)

then do;

p = root(C);

dim = nrow(C);

myvar = RANNOR(J(&n, dim, 0));

do i = 1 to dim;

myvar[, i] = myvar[,i]-(sum(myvar[,i])/&n);

end;

XX = (t(myvar)*myvar)/(&n-1);

U = root(inv(XX));

Y = myvar*T(U);

T = Y*p;

create &outdata from T;

append from T;

end;

else print "Check your input matrix, it is not a correlation matrix nor a covariance matrix.";

quit;

%mend;

data corr;

input x1 x2 x3 x4;

datalines;

1    .8    .5  .2

.8    1    .3  .4

.5    .3 1  .7

.2  .4 .7   1

;

%corr2data(mycorr, corr, 10 , FULL='T', CORR='T'); /*5=# SUBJECTS*/

*proc print data=mycorr;

run;

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎03-21-2013 02:49 PM
SAS Super FREQ

Re: How to generate a data set for given covariance structure