BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
suze152
Calcite | Level 5

Hello SAS friends,

Please bear with me, I am a coding beginner and am not qualified to invoke macros. I use SAS Studio, University Edition.

I have a categorical response variable with 4 levels (DENV_CNTL2, levels 1, 3, 4, 5).
I have a continuous predictor variable (RBP4_ADJC).

Additional predictor variables include (Age, continuous; Sex, binary; Fever, binary).

I would like to run a multinomial logistic regression first with only 1 continuous predictor variable. I would like to run subsequent models with the additional predictor variables (categorical and continuous).

I have read that it's possible to estimate relative risk with PROC LOGISTIC using the %NLEstimate macro. I am having trouble writing the f or fdata parameters of this macro based on my variables. I have also never used a macro.

The code is below, and the output is attached.

PROC LOGISTIC DATA=Suze.ECData;
CLASS DENV_CNTL2 (ref = 1) / param = ref;
MODEL DENV_CNTL2=RBP4_ADJC / RL link=glogit;
STORE OUT=NLE;
RUN;

%NLEstimate(INSTORE=NLE, f=..... ???)

Thank you kindly!

Suze

2 REPLIES 2
Reeza
Super User

If something is new, find a fully worked example, ensure you can replicate the results and then try and apply it to your data. 

Here’s the one for what you’re looking for. 

http://support.sas.com/kb/57/798.html

Calling a macro is the same as using a function in Excel. You put the right things in the function and you get results. 

Learning to use one is very straightforward, writing them is a different story. There no qualifications required to run macros besides a willingness to try it. 

@suze152 wrote:

Hello SAS friends,

Please bear with me, I am a coding beginner and am not qualified to invoke macros. I use SAS Studio, University Edition.

I have a categorical response variable with 4 levels (DENV_CNTL2, levels 1, 3, 4, 5).
I have a continuous predictor variable (RBP4_ADJC).