BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
yawenyu
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello!

I am using SAS ver9.3 to sort observations. They are as follows:

NT1

NT2

T1

T2

T3

I would like to sort them as:

T1

T2

T3

NT1

NT2

A simple DECENDING statement does not work, and give me T3, T2, T1, NT2, NT1. Is there a proper way to sort this? Thank you in advance. I am new at SAS programming so apologies if there is a simple solution I am not realizing.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Well, there's not really a simple solution.  SAS isn't built to sort in an order that is neither ascending nor descending.  You would need to create an extra variable based on your old variable:

if oldvar =: 'T' then sort_order=1;

else sort_order=2;

Then use that as part of your sorting sequence:

proc sort data=have;

by sort_order oldvar;

run;

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Astounding
PROC Star

Well, there's not really a simple solution.  SAS isn't built to sort in an order that is neither ascending nor descending.  You would need to create an extra variable based on your old variable:

if oldvar =: 'T' then sort_order=1;

else sort_order=2;

Then use that as part of your sorting sequence:

proc sort data=have;

by sort_order oldvar;

run;

yawenyu
Obsidian | Level 7

Thank you! This worked perfectly.

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.

Pre-conference courses and tutorials are filling up fast and are always a sellout. Register today to reserve your seat.

Register now!

How to Concatenate Values

Learn how use the CAT functions in SAS to join values from multiple variables into a single value.

Find more tutorials on the SAS Users YouTube channel.

Click image to register for webinarClick image to register for webinar