BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vinayakraja
Fluorite | Level 6

I have been trying to create columns in sas based on substring. I need to create a coloumn of each sub string stored in a column seprated by '\'. For example:-

prexa\Medical Information\Medical Letters 02 is a single string stored in one column. i would like to have three columns col1: prexa col2 :Medical Information and Col3 : Medical. I am new to sas and have tried but unable to proceed.

this column has numeric values with no sub string as well.Content of Column.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

Well the first question you should be asking yourself is what is this data, how did I arrive with it. Now I do not know what the numbers are but the other part looks like some sort of directory listing.  Is this data you have created?  If so I would fix the code which generates this data, if it comes from a vendor then update your agreement so the data is in a useable format.  Without knowledge of what the data is or how you came by it something like the below code might help, it creates a series of character variales for each split of the long string - note I do not do any conversions to number or anything else, just split the string up.  The reason is I do not know this data, nor what its used for.  99% of any programming task is to understand your data and arrange that in a manner which is conducive to programming, the example data you provided looks like at least two different data items appended to each other - this is generally not good.  Also, please post test data in the form of a datastep as text in your posts, its not great to have to type all that in to test code:

data have;
  infile datalines dlm="¬";
  length long_string $2000;
  input long_string $;
datalines;
P Toolbox\Customer program\peer to peer
abc\ert\popt\abcdedgeg\defty