BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jonwane
Calcite | Level 5

Hi. I'm new to SAS 9.4 and this forum.

I've created a table that changes daily.

Included in my table are four columns of coworker email addresses that I need to email the report to.

I am able to email the report to myself using the TO= command, but I am not able to find any documentation that helps me understand how to use the column variables for emailing.

Does this make sense?

Again, the email addresses on the report change every day, so static email addresses don't work.

Any programming suggestions (or links) would be appreciated.

FILENAME mail EMAIL

FROM="work_email@work.com"

TO=("?????????????????????????????")

REPLYTO="work_email@work.com"

SUBJECT="Notification Table to Coworkers"

CONTENT_TYPE="text/html";

ODS LISTING close;

ODS HTML BODY=mail options(pagebreak="no") STYLE=EGDefault;

7 REPLIES 7
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

You should create a macro variable containing the relevant emails and use it in the TO statement.

Post a sample of your data that contains the emails, the rules to decide who of them are relevant,

and you'll get in replay how to create the macro variable and how to use it in the email

jonwane
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Shmuel,

Thank you. Please excuse my delayed response.

So, in my report, I have 4 columns of emails (some blanks and some duplicate email addresses)

In my Process Flow, I created filtering for the four columns of email addresses, I appended them into one table, and then in a new table titled "Combined Emails" I combined all the email addresses into one column, removed duplicates, and added quotations around each email address.

So now, I have a table that will repopulate all the emails I need when I run the branch.

My questions is, how do I add that column to the TO= statement within my program so it will mail out to the people on the "Combined Emails" table? 

If more info is needed, I will gladly supply it. 

Thank you again.

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18