BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jp_78
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello all!  This is my first post to the forum.  Please forgive me if there's a better place to put this post.  Let me know if you think there's a better place for this post.

I am a PhD student and use SAS a lot.  It's not uncommon for me to be on SAS all day.  I get migraines easily and spending too much time working in SAS can be a problem for me - the brightness of the screen can trigger my migraines.  I've changed the brightness settings on my monitor, which helps, but does not eliminate the problem.  Is there some way to change the system color scheme in SAS?  I know I can change the color scheme for tables and any charts or graphs that I create.  But I'm looking for a way to change the background color for the windows I work in most of the time - the code editor and log windows.

Thanks in advance for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Here's an example for base sas

dm 'log;color note black;

color source blue;

color warning yellow;

color data blue;

color background gray;

wsave;';

note the start and end '

The DM colors are the traditional 16 red, black, blue, cyan, yellow, white, brown, gray magenta pink and such.

the output window has different options

dm 'output;

color data       black;

color footn      blue;

color header blue;';

dm 'output;

color title      blue;

color error      white;

color background cyan;

wsave';

The WSAVE places these settings in your SASUSER.PROFILE and shouldn't have to be rerun each session.

The enhanced editor has a separate system for defining colors, use Tools>Options>Enhanced Editor>Appearance to create your style for use.

I you are using the classic editor:

dm 'pgm;

color banner     white;

color command    white;

color message    white;

color mark       white reverse;';

dm 'pgm;

color text       white;