BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
nick1990
Fluorite | Level 6

Hey all, I'm very new to SAS and have tried to find the answers to all this online but am still hitting roadblocks.

Here is the situation:

- I have a set of data where 15 of the variables are diagnoses (for a hospital) named dX1-dX15.

- for the 500 patients I'm working with, different codes have been assigned to them under these 15 variables

- I need to create a new variable "Prex" where every time one of the codes is present for a row, Prex=1 (and if not Prex=0)

- the codes I need are anything starting with 72, 73, 74 or with 650-669 or V27..

so the codes could be 72, 721, 7310, 74101, 658, 660445, V2791 etc.. (they all differ in length, but the key is that they start with any of           these options)

To this point, I have come up with:

data work.nist1;

set WORK.NIS_2002_10PCT_SAMPLE_A (obs=500);

keep key Prex dx1-dx15;

Array Diagn (15) dx1-dx15;

do i = 1 to 15;

if Diagn(i)=:'V270' or index(Diagn(i),'72') or index(Diagn(i),'73') or index(Diagn(i),'74')

then Prex=1;

end;

run;

proc print data=work.nist1;

id Prex;

run;

The problems I'm running into are:

- short of writing out an if statement for '650' '651' '652'... I have no idea how to index(or find) for the RANGE of codes starting with 650-669 (I thought maybe I could make a macro but that hasn't been working)

- I only need data that START with these numbers and yet data like '10973' are also showing up with Prex=1, so I'm unsure how to specify just the starting characters.

- I've tried the "find(Diagn(i),'72',startpos)" but was unsuccessful or maybe did it wrong.

- Also for character data you're supposed to be able to write " Where var Like 'N%' " and have it give you everything starting with N, regardless of what comes after. I figured out that for an IF statement, I can do "If var=:" as an equivalent to the like statement but it doesn't work to do