Granting sassrv write access

Contributor

Granting sassrv write access

Hello All,

I am new to sas admin area, though not new to sas. I have a basic permission/rights question to ask in order to understand.

In a test environment, stored process server is not starting. I have realized that sassrv account does not have write access to the Logs directory at /sashome/config/Lev1/SASApp/StoredProcessServer location. The owner of the Logs directory is the sasinst user. Also, while validating workspace server, sassrv id and password fails too.

Now, how do I grant write access to sassrv, so that stored process server works?  All the documents I have seen says that account ownership should be setup during installation.

Thanks for your time.

Respected Advisor

Re: Granting sassrv write access

I'm a weak and not patient enough installer so possibly should not be answering this question. But as I just went through a trial and error process installing on a VM: You need to define external users and groups and then assign the appropriate permissions on OS level. So here sassrv should have write access to the log directory.

You normally add external users to external groups and then grant the group the required access to a folder structure. To apply the correct rights to the right folders needs some planning and is part of a pre-installation checklist.

There is some info in the installation guide of what needs to be done under "Setting up Users, Groups and Ports" http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/biig/63852/PDF/default/biig.pdf

For a "professional" installation: You probably define the groups and users in AD or LDAP and then synch with metadata.

Learner

Logon to SAS Management Console and select Server Manager ---> Select the server of your interest ,right click and get into properties ----> under Authorization tab add SAS General Servers and give write permissions .