Getting started with SAS, how to make Excel data conformable for linear regression, ANOVA, and ANACOVA

N/A

Getting started with SAS, how to make Excel data conformable for linear regression, ANOVA, and ANACOVA

I am new to SAS. My dissertation analysis will compare students’ reading and math scores from 6th and 8th grade. Then I will do the same comparison but with attendance rates. Lastly, I want to control for variables such as race/ethnicity, gender, etc.

I was advised to use linear regression, ANOVA, and ANACOVA. But, I’m having trouble getting started. My first question is how to make data – right now organized into Excel spreadsheets – conformable to SAS. Do I need my data arranged in a particular way, or with specific column headings, so that the SAS program will know what to do when it uploads my data? The spreadsheets also include data about the schools, their districts, district codes, etc – do I need to remove that data from the spreadsheet before uploading it into SAS to run our analysis?

I’ve been reading online resources about SAS, but haven’t found anything that seems applicable to my type of data, analysis, and concerns. If anyone could offer some advice, or perhaps suggest a good website to guide me through this, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Super User

Re: Getting started with SAS, how to make Excel data conformable for linear regression, ANOVA, and ANACOVA

If you go to the SAS University Edition site, you'll see two links to free SAS courses, including one on statistical analysis in SAS.

These will go through how to perform these analysis in SAS.

Without knowing how your data is currently organized its hard to comment on how you might need to change it.

Super User

Re: Getting started with SAS, how to make Excel data conformable for linear regression, ANOVA, and ANACOVA

Your first challenge getting data into SAS from Excel is possibly conceptual.