File flattening help? Transposing nested lists...

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

File flattening help? Transposing nested lists...

Hi there,

I am a novice programmer attempting to flatten a large data file with nested lists.

Currently, each data line corresponds to one individual at one time point.  Each individual may have anywhere between 1 and 1800 time points captured for all variables. 

What I need is to have one data line for each person with each time point transposed for all variables.

As a more concrete example, my data currently looks like this:

Person1 Time1 Variable1 Variable2 Variable3 etc.

Person1 Time2 Variable1 Variable2 Variable3 etc.

Person2  Time1 Variable1 Variable2 Variable3 etc.

I want my data to look like this:

Person1 Variable1Time1 Variable2Time1 Variable3Time1 Variable1Time2 Variable2Time2 Variable3Time2...etc

I am trying to use line by line coding but with the size of my dataset, I would have to make thousands of new datasets to merge and will never finish at this rate!!  Although I can't really write macros, I can usually adapt them to suit my needs...Any help would be most appreciated! 

EpiLinds

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎08-13-2014 04:03 PM
Grand Advisor

Re: File flattening help? Transposing nested lists...

Here's a template for what I think you are trying to do. I only used 3 variables and a couple of patients.

data work.junk;
input Id days var1 var2 var3;
datalines;
1 1 2 3 4
1 2 89 89 90
1 5 34 36 39
2 1 23 35 46
2 4 13 24 40
;
run;
/* this data set is used to create a list that will make sure
you have all possible values from day1 to dayN within the range
given*/
data work.dummy;
   id = 0;
   do days = 1 to 5; /* largest value of the days for any record*/
      output;
   end;
run;
/* now transform a wide to long, one record per person/time/variable*/
data work.transin;
   set work.dummy work.junk;
   array v var1-var3;
   do vnum = 1 to dim(v);
      var=v[vnum];
      output;